Cheddar Chicken

Sometimes you want to make (and eat) something simple. Something humble. Something ungourmet. Something that uses ingredients you know taste amazing, but might not be best for your diet. Something that makes you feel warm, fuzzy and “oh so bad” for eating it. I found that dish last week, from a somewhat unexpected place.

In my Real Simple, I read an article about a woman’s comfort food that her mother made – a recipe found on the box of her mother’s new blender. The recipe was called Cheddar Chicken and only included 5 ingredients – chicken, Ritz crackers, cheddar cheese, garlic and butter. Now that you have read the list of ingredients, you can surely understand my sentiment at the beginning of this post.

The dish is so drenched in butter (from the pure butter and the crackers) with a hint of garlic and the sharp, gooey cheddar cheese. It tastes nothing short of amazing. Nothing gourmet. No rare ingredients. No need to spend hours in the kitchen.

So anytime you want something that makes you feel satisfied, a bit guilty and takes nothing more than 45 minutes with your pantry staples, put this one in the oven. Serve with rice pilaf and you have a simple, flavorful dinner.

CHEDDAR CHICKEN
Serves 4

16 buttery crackers (such as Ritz), crushed (about 3⁄4 cup)
6 ounces sharp Cheddar, grated
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
kosher salt and black pepper
4 6-ounce boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
wild rice pilaf and steamed green beans (optional)

Heat oven to 350° F. In a bowl, combine the crackers, cheese, garlic, and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper.

Dip the chicken in the butter, then in the cracker mixture, pressing gently to help the crackers adhere. Place the chicken on a foil-lined baking sheet.

Sprinkle any remaining cracker mixture on the chicken and drizzle with any remaining butter. Bake until the chicken is golden brown, 25 to 30 minutes.

Serve with the pilaf and green beans, if desired.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Cheddar Chicken”

  1. heather johnson Says:

    That sounds delish! And totally bad for you – hahaha but sometimes you need that. And thanks for the cookies last weekend – you should post about those!!!! omg good!

  2. Cincinnati Coupons | Where Saving Money Is An Addiction | Blog | Food Hussy Recipe: Buffalo Cheddar Chicken Says:

    […] go there first! Such is the case with the recipe I found on my good friend Sarah’s blog for Cheddar Chicken. She usually makes things fancier than I can hang with but this one seemed fairly […]

  3. Gloria Says:

    I saw this on Pinterest, looks great! Thanks for sharing!
    Best,
    Gloria

  4. Tricia Says:

    My husband LOVES cheddar cheese. I found this on pinterest and will be making it for dinner tonight. Thank you!

  5. Susannah Says:

    Looks great! I have a question about the butter though-I don’t see any mention of how much butter. I notice the recipe says to dip the chicken in butter then dredge in crackers, so obvi I’m missing something! 😉

  6. Susannah Says:

    Omg never mind I just reread the recipe!!!

  7. Kelly CookingQueen Perkins Says:

    I am SO making this…RIGHT NOW! Gotta go….

  8. Priscilla Says:

    OMG! This recipe is AMAZING!! We have 3 kids, ages 10, 7, & 5, and it is so hard to find dishes that the entire family likes, but everyone devoured this one! Thank you for sharing!

  9. #8-Favorite Recipes « Thinking Out Loud Says:

    […] Another one I found was this delicious Cheddar Chicken. It was really simple to make and had great flavor. Phillip took one bite, looked me and said, […]

  10. Lisa Says:

    Sooooo good and easy to make. I made with mashed potatoes and my 10 yr old and 14 yr old loved it!

  11. Holly Says:

    I didn’t really feel like cooking tonight so I looked up quick recipes on pinterest and this popped up. I had all the ingredients so I made it. It was so good and so easy. Even my picky eaters loved it. It’s going to be part of our permanent rotation. Thanks!

Leave a comment