Scallion Sweet Potatoes

IMG_1224Potatoes are one thing I had never thought of on the grill until I saw this recipe from the Food Network Magazine. I made it this weekend for my sister-in-law and nephews and it was an easy thing to throw on the grill with burgers, etc.

You can cut up and peel the potatoes early (which is what I did) so then all you do is mix it together then throw it into a sheet a foil on the grill (took me 2 minutes to prepare). Plus, I am a sucker for sweet potatoes – and as a bonus I heard they are even better for your than regular potatoes!

SCALLION SWEET POTATOES

1.5 lbs chopped, peeled sweet potatoes
1 bunch scallions (cut into 2-inch pieces)
6 crushed garlic cloves (a few less if you don’t want a strong garlic flavor)
1 tablespoon fresh, chopped thyme
1/4 cup olive oil
salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss. Place on a sheet of foil and fold up into a pouch. Grill over low head until the potatoes are tender, 20-25 minutes.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment