Peanut Butter and Jelly Thumbprints

When making cookies for some friends and their two kids, I figured I would make something fun, playful and something that is a sure winner with little ones. Chocolate is always a good bet (and I have plenty of recipes in that arena) but when I saw a recipe for classic peanut butter cookies, I figured that is a kid-friendly recipe as well. Then, when I read that you can make them into thumbprints with jelly to create peanut butter and jelly cookies, I knew I had to try it.

Last I checked, I am much too old to be considered a child, but I personally fell in love with these cookies. The basic peanut butter cookie recipe is hands down the best I have had, and the raspberry jelly I added gave it a great sweetness to offset the salty.

So, if you want to make something kids will enjoy (or the kid in you!), give these a try. Thanks Bon Appetit Desserts for this recipe.

PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY THUMBPRINTS
Makes about 2.5 dozen

2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup old-fashioned (natural) salted crunchy peanut butter (preferable organic)
Raspberry/Strawberry jam (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Live 2 heavy large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats. Whisk flour, baking soda, and salt in small bowl to blend. Using electric mixer, beat butter and both sugars in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in eggs. Add peanut butter and mix just until combined (do not overmix). Stir in flour mixture.

Form dough into gold-ball-size balls and arrange on baking sheets, spacing 1 inch a part. Either use a fork and flatter in a crosshatch pattern OR indent each ball with the back of a 1/4 teaspoon then fill with jam to create thumbprint. Bake cookies until golden brown on bottom, about 20 minutes. Transfer to rack and cool.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

