Cheddar Jalapeno Skillet Cornbread

So, I never had really thought of putting cornbread with chili until I met my husband. He always baked up some cornbread muffins and dipped them in the chili, so I thought I would give it a whirl. Once I did, I found it hard to eat chili without it.

So when I bought my prized cast iron skillet (I know I have said it before, but if you don’t have one, you need one) I started looking for great skillet cornbread recipes. Because after all, that is the best way to make it!

This recipe actually came from Gourmet and is intended for cast-iron stick pans. Well, I don’t have those, so I used the little note on how to bake in a cast iron skillet. I recommend sticking with one tablespoon of jalapenos unless you like your cornbread extra spicy.

CHEDDAR JALAPENO SKILLET CORNBREAD
Makes one 9-inch round cornbread

1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1 large egg
1/4 pound coarsely grated extra-sharp Cheddar (1 cup)
1/4 cup finely chopped scallion (white and pale green parts only)
1 to 2 tablespoons finely chopped drained pickled jalapeños
1/2 stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter, melted

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 425°F. Heat skillet in oven 10 minutes.

Whisk together cornmeal, sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Whisk together buttermilk and egg in another bowl, then add to cornmeal mixture along with Cheddar, scallion, jalapeños (to taste), and 2 tablespoons butter, stirring until just combined.

Remove skillet from oven and add 2 tablespoons butter until it melts. Pour in batter. Bake until top is golden and a wooden pick or skewer comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes.

Serve warm.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

