Sauceless Carbonara Pasta

img_02191For those who know me, know Carbonara is my favorite dish. My mother always made it when I was a child and my father and I would beg for it! Now that I am cooking on my own, it is hands down my favorite dish to make. And like all of my favorites, I accumulate many recipes to showcase the many versions of the dish.

This particular recipe for carbonara is one of my favorites because it is technically sauceless. There is no cream in the dish – merely egg yoke and wine holding it together. The result is a lighter carbonara that is still rich in flavor.

Again, you will see my favorite protein – pancetta. Also, the red pepper flakes give it a great kick. The original recipe, written by Rachael Ray, uses rigatoni but I love using fresh pasta. In this instance I used fresh fettucine.

SAUCELESS CARBONARA PASTA
Makes enough for 2

Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 pound fresh fettucine
1/8 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 lb pancetta
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, to taste
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup white wine
1 large egg yoke
1/4 cup grated romano cheese
Handful of finely chopped fresh parsley

Put a large pot of boiling water on top boil. Add a liberal amount of salt and cook fettucine until al dente.

Meanwhile, heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add extra virgin olive oil and pancetta. Brown pancetta. Add red pepper flakes and garlic and cook 2-3 minutes more. Add wine and stir up all the pan drippings.

Beat yoke, then add 1/2 ladleful of the pasta cooking water, to keep the eggs from scrambling (called tempering the eggs).

Drain pasta well and add it directly to the skillet with pancetta and oil. Pour the egg mixture over the pasta. Toss rapidly to coat the pasta without cooking the egg. Remove pan from heat and ad a big handful of cheese, lots of pepper and a little salt. Continue to toss and turn the pasta until it soaks up the egg mixture, melts the cheese, and thickens, about 1-2 minutes. Garish with parsley, if desired and extra cheese.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Sauceless Carbonara Pasta”

  1. heather "food hussy" Says:

    Hey woman – you need bigger pictures! I wanna see this even more!

Leave a Reply

