Moroccan Stew

africanstew13So, I will start this post by saying that I went to Williams Sonoma with my friend Emily this morning for one of their free cooking classes. It was all things chocolate – just in time for Valentine’s Day – and although we had to stand for an hour, I recommend you check out their schedule. People were of varying levels, some barely knew the difference between milk chocolate and semi-sweet and others probably have cocoa trees growing in their backyard! I learned lots about the processing of chocolate, which chocolates goes best with which wines, etc. And, best of all, we got to taste test!

The recipe I will share with you today is one of my favorites for a cold winter’s night. Yes, it requires a slow cooker, but I do about 30 minutes of cooking about 2/3pm and don’t have to touch it again until dinner time – perfect for a Sunday. It is a traditional African stew with chicken, garbanzo beans and lots of veggies, although you could certainly mix up the meat and even some veggies to your own taste. I got it from a cookbook my grandma gave me, modified after making it many times.

TRADITIONAL AFRICAN STEW – makes enough for 4
1 onion, sliced
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger root
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1.5 pounds boneless chicken breast, cut into small pieces
2 carrots, peeled and diced
1 potato, peeled and diced
2 zucchini, sliced
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon powdered tumeric
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnimon
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons raisins
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can garbanzo beans, drained
1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro

Saute onions, ginger and garlic in medium large skillet over medium-high heat in 1 tablespoon olive oil until limp, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a slow cooker. Add 1 additional tablespoon olive oil to skillet and brown chicken on both sides.
While chicken is browning, add carrots, potato and zucchini to slow cooker. Place browned chicken on top of vegetables.
In a small bowl, mix together the cumin, tumeric, salt, pepper, cinnamon and cayenne pepper. Sprinkle over chicken. Top chicken pieces with raisins and tomatoes. Cover and cook on high for 4 hours then keep warm until service. Add garbanzo beans and cilantro for 30 minutes before service.
Serve alone as a stew or on top of couscous.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Moroccan Stew”

  1. heather Says:

    I added you to my blogroll hussy! Can’t wait to see more recipes and such! You should invite me and Scott over sometime!

    hahaha

  2. Laurie S Says:

    Hi Sarah…Didn’t know you are into food…it’s one of my passions. the moroccan stew sounds interesting…but i’m not into slow cooking. I’ll try to make it in the pressure cooker..

  3. foodforthoughtblog Says:

    I love food! I am a slow cooker/dutch oven Sunday person (especially in the winter), but I will certainly be putting other recipes up since I cook at least 5 days a week!

Leave a Reply

