Creamy Parsley and Pistachio Fettuccine

IMG_0959I am a sucker for pasta. Ok, I know the carbs aren’t that great for you, but nothing screams comfort food to me more than a big bowl of noodles. My husband, a bit more health conscious than I, does limit me to one pasta dish a week. But believe me, I always make the one I am allowed – and it generally comes on a Thursday night with a bottle of wine. Starting a few years ago, this Thursday pasta and wine night has now become a tradition, celebrating the fast approaching weekend.

I love this recipe because it works well in the summer, when you might not be in the mood for baked pasta or a heavy tomato sauce. The pistachio pesto gives is a very unique flavor, brightened up with a light citrus freshness.

This one come from Rachael Ray, who seems to be a pasta lover like myself. This recipe is verbatim, however I throw in fresh pasta instead of dried, something I tend to do whenever I get the chance!

CREAMY PARSLEY AND PISTACHIO FETTUCCINE
Serves 4

Salt
1 pound fettuccine pasta
3/4 cup heavy cream
Grated peel and juice of 1 lemon
1 cup packed flat-leaf parsley leaves
1/3 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (a generous handful)
1/4 cup shelled natural pistachio nuts, lightly toasted
1 large clove garlic, grated or finely chopped
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO)
Pepper

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, salt it, add the pasta and cook until al dente; drain.

While the pasta is working, in a small saucepan, warm the cream and lemon peel over medium heat.

Using a food processor, puree the parsley, cheese, nuts and garlic. Mix in the lemon juice. With the machine on, blend in the EVOO until combined.

Place the pesto in a large pasta bowl; season with salt and pepper. Stir in the hot cream mixture, add the pasta and toss.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Creamy Parsley and Pistachio Fettuccine”

  1. monique Says:

    It looks like you may have used Al Dente Egg Fettuccine in your recipe. Have you ever tried it. I started Al Dente back in 1981. People love that it cooks in just 3 minutes and tastes just like homemade. I am going to try your recipe which sounds delicious

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

